Been There.. Done That!

It was not part of my bucket list, also I was considerably scared to do it. But I m glad that I did it anyways. Now I can say that I m one step near to my ultimate wish: sky diving! One day that will happen and I will post it here. But that’s the story for some other day. For today its about my first tandem flight, paragliding!

I felt little dizzy with all the circles we made but overall it was a hell of an experience. Every thing man made appears like a toy and when we land the same things becomes life size. Felt like it was a happy hour that day, as there were so many gliders rising and benefiting from the thermal. They all looked like kites and when we came near to the launch site the human payloads became apparent.

I got few pics and my launch video to share. I learnt new jargon. Words like tandem, thermal I learnt them here and they were on my tongue tip for at least a week. We were bunch of odd people together and out of six, four took the flight. When my turn came, almost half the day was gone, and we were loosing wind. So my pilot landed us on the base instead of the hill from where we took off. I had to wait for my friends who were uphill for their returning.

Next to the landing site I saw children playing cricket. And when we landed there was a sudden rush in them to run towards us. One of the child grabbed our parachute and started folding and packing it. But real rush happened when a foreigner landed with his chute.  They all went to grab his glider and one kid got the chance of packing it.

I came to know that these kids gets money, 10 to 20 bucks to pack the parachutes. I asked one of the kid if they go to school and he said yes they do. It was a season of paragliding and who would say no to extra bucks, so they would do this either before the school or after returning from it.

DSCN4456 DSCN4452 DSCN4450 DSCN4448 DSCN4443DSCN4436 DSCN4427 DSCN4431

 

 

 

 

 

About mayur hulsar

Server(AIX)Administrator by profession, photographer & amateur astronomer by passion.. Fascinated by every aspect of life, and loves to live every moment of it..

4 comments

  1. I guess it was exciting, but not for me! 😉

  2. Mangesh Sutar

    Excellent, keep it up……

Want to say something about this post? Your comments are highly desirable... :D

