Comet Catalina Photographed

Comets are moody celestial bodies. But when I heard that this particular comet is on its first and the last visit to our solar system I decided to see it or at least snap a picture before the last rendezvous.

Best date was, when it was very near to a bright star named Arcturus and that was on the very first day of this new year. But you have to forgive me as it turned difficult to wake up early at 4, after new year party I had with my friends. 🙂

Nevertheless I tried consecutively next two days and today i.e on 2nd day I got a decent frame. Spolier alert to my readers, it’s a tiny object, comet’s tail is not apparent. But one can see the greenish tinge in the below pictures.

My astronomy software showed its magnitude to decent 4 but it was still not visible to naked eyes. Maybe I had to find more dark site but it was not possible in city place.

Early risers living in northern hemisphere may able to see it as a tiny fuzz ball in north-east skies with the aid of binoculars provided one knows where to look for. I have also posted a star map from CDC (that’s the software I use) starting from 4th Jan i.e. today till 18th Jan 2016. This is mainly for my region but maybe used anywhere with a trial n error.

Wish to get more frames preferably in better conditions and dark skies till 17th of this month as after which its brightness will further start to diminish…

Do comment on my post, see you soon. And oh yes, happy new year to everyone out there. Bye and take care.

Comet C/2013 US10 (Catalina) wiki link

 

comet C-2013 US10 Catalinacomet C-2013 US10 Catalina1comet C-2013 US10 Catalina-star-map

About mayur hulsar

Server(AIX)Administrator by profession, photographer & amateur astronomer by passion.. Fascinated by every aspect of life, and loves to live every moment of it..

2 comments

  1. Hitesh

    Nice article. Well written and humorous…

Want to say something about this post? Your comments are highly desirable... :D

