Evening Shoot of Bandra Worli Sea Link

There wouldn’t be a second opinion if I say that bandra worli sea link has become one of the most photographic object in South Mumbai after the regulars such as ‘Gateway of India’ and ‘Marine drive’ etc.

Bandra–Worli Sea Link, officially called Rajiv Gandhi Sea Link, is a cable-stayed bridge with pre-stressed concrete-steel viaducts on either side, that links Bandra in the Western Suburbs of Mumbai with Worli in South Mumbai.[1] The bridge is a part of the proposed Western Free-way that will link the Western Suburbs to Nariman Point in Mumbai’s main business district. source: wiki

Now heres a little prolouge: Recently I found a new photographer friend who is actually my college friend. He got inspired (my other friends would call this a brain wash) by my work here on the blog. :p And bought himself a DSLR camera. It was his suggestion to shoot Bandra-Worli Sea link from bay place near a city hospital. I been to this area many times but never strike to me that it could offer such good view of sea link.

Sea link to Mumbai is how Eifel tower is to Paris city. One enter the link road from Mahim or worli and it will be constantly visible to your left side till  you drive towards Bandra.

My every shoot outing doesnt go this perfect, but this time luck was on our side. There were no rains, we reached on time, felt hungry, found a place to sit and eat snacks and reached back to shore just in time to shoot at sunset.

Having written so much and to proceed further, but I m in kind of dilemma whether to write about this place or not. From where we stood it was an elevated area but down where sea water reached shore it was really filthy. One can forget the salty stench for a while but garbage, plastic bags thrown all over the place by hight tide that scene was totally indigestible. I have cropped some of below frames to avoid showing this filth but I have to mention as a cautionary note to my fellow photographers that looks can be decisive, so b prepared for some undelightful sights if you go shoot here.

Its is really sad to look at our sea shores in such dilapidated conditions. But who shall we blame for this outcome? Industrial waste, citi’s sewer goes to the sea. Plus people treat sea shores as  a dumping zone. Even the sea water looks murky red. I can only dream of Mumbai shores looking as beautiful as my native place shore is. Although darkness did help us that it hide all the filth in its blanket. We stood there for couple of hours taking long exposures from my friend’s camera.

I felt lucky to capture couple of good candid frames, all in all that evening was memorable. The saddest part apart from dirty sea-face was that I had to leave this place and go to office for my night shift. I was tired, wanted to rest and prayed all the time in return journey that let there be no adventure waiting for me at work so I can relax at night.

IMG_7295 IMG_7307 IMG_7313 IMG_7342
IMG_7396 IMG_7371 IMG_7365

About mayur hulsar

Server(AIX)Administrator by profession, photographer & amateur astronomer by passion.. Fascinated by every aspect of life, and loves to live every moment of it..

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Rains, sea-link and Bandstand | Mayur Hulsar Photography

  2. Pingback: Sunset at Haji Ali Dargah | Mayur Hulsar Photography

  3. Pingback: Note My Travel Destination : Bandra Worli Sea Link Mumbai | My Note My Life

  4. Nidhi Thakrar

    Hey i am visiting Mumbai for the first time in a few days… Could you please tell me the best and the closest place to click a few pics of bandra work I sea link?

    • hi Nidhi. How u doing? Sorry I tottaly missed your reply. I also know Im enormously late, but still…… There are various places from you can photograph sea link. Best ones IMHO would be bandstand, Hinduja hospital backside, and from varli koliwada…

Want to say something about this post? Your comments are highly desirable... :D

