Visit of a Feathered Friend

This snap was captured by Zi.

Last week we were at my native place enjoying our annual leave. We had packed very light for this trip. I had carried my cam and 50 mm prime along with it, that’s it. No flash, no tripods, no laptops or fancy accessories. Yes there was ton of luggage but not ours but our baby’s.

This was the only reason we choose to travel light because my car was jam packed with her stuff, diapers, clothes, medicines and whatever thing is necessary for a 3 month and 4.5 kg baby requires.

This trip also marks my least photographed outing as I rarely went out anywhere. Also the 3rd day I got a muscle strain which restricted my head movement.

That day I was taking a afternoon nap when Zi took my camera to shoot this bird. She took several shots out of which this came better.

I patted her back for the good job, and showed this proudly to everyone.

There is only one glitch. Can someone tell me what is our feathered friend’s name?

Update:

Since couldn’t able to know which bird is this, I shared this link to couple of birdwatcher friends of mine. And I got a reply saying that this is a ‘White Throated Kingfisher’

And now that I know which species is this, I feel stupid that how come I didn’t realize this earlier?! 😀

Image

About mayur hulsar

Server(AIX)Administrator by profession, photographer & amateur astronomer by passion.. Fascinated by every aspect of life, and loves to live every moment of it..

4 comments

  1. Much to exotic to my knowledge, but very nice bird.

  2. I haven’t been educated on the names of birds either but this sure is a beautiful one.

  3. zi

    Thanks Mayur for sharing this pic in ur blog, well even i don’t know the name but yes the pic is nice

Want to say something about this post? Your comments are highly desirable... :D

