My yesteryear’s Holi

Living in India, we are blessed with festivals. For every single occasion there are festivals. Such is the frequency that if one goes then another is on its way.

But gone are the days when I lived through all the festivals. When I was kid I believed being grown up is fun. No school, no homework and all play. But now I feel it was happy days being a kid. Life of an adult human being is alright because now I don’t have to go school anymore. But my job takes care of this perspective in a similar fashion. I miss all the fun that I had with my friends in festival times. Even this year I found myself doing a morning shift when rest of my friends including my bro was getting drenched in coloured water on the eve of holi.

Yesterday by the time I returned home, everything was over and I only got to see the aftermath of that great day. On my way, I saw roads were empty as if a curfew has been imposed. I could see roads with patches of red, blue colour. Even cars, bikes parked on roads were not spared. In short it was all very colourful. And as usual I was the odd one out among them.

Since I was not there to play holi this year I have decided to share some of my last year’s snap with all of you. They were taken from my mobile phone camera.

Maybe next year I would be at home, to have fun and take some more snaps of this colourful event.

See  ya next time, till then take care.


For those who couldnt able to: Right side person wearing glasses is me… sometimes I think I look better like this!!

About mayur hulsar

Server(AIX)Administrator by profession, photographer & amateur astronomer by passion.. Fascinated by every aspect of life, and loves to live every moment of it..

5 comments

  1. As a part of essential services, I too had morning shift that day, and an odd one, 5 a.m. to 2 p.m., but I was never a holy-playing kid. I used to hide back in home all the day on Holi. It was only when I went to hostel that I started playing holi, only because there was no benefit hiding. This year too, I didn’t try to run away when friends came to color me in office.

    By the way, finally, I am going to formally following your blog now; i was already following it through Twitter, but you’re blogging so less, I thought I must follow on wordpress now, lest I miss something 😉

    • Thanks for commenting Ganesh. Yeah, we had decided to play holi at office. but I got busy with some technical issues and the whole shift went in troubleshooting that.

      I always enjoyed holy, and dont even remember when was the first time I started playing it. This festival had the best-est memories of my life.

      Yeah, I been blogging less. Its actually a walking on rope trick to balance out each aspect of life and do blogging. My aim is to blog once every week. Sometimes I succeed, and sometime I don’t.

      Thanks for following my blog now officially. But through email or not, I know you will always read my blog. and I cant thank you enough for that. take care, ciao!

  2. Neha B

    Holi is definitely one of the most popular festivals amongst the kids, and since I loved it so much as a child, no way was I gonna miss it now. Last year’s holi was special because a small lil colorful package was delivered to us… N this one was even more so, coz it was Advay’s first Holi. Introduction to fun with water n colors n of course friends is deep rooted in him now 🙂
    Mayur, u are nudging a bone in me with every read of ur blog that is propelling me to start blogging too! I think this is a great way to preserve memories for Advay to read n remember as he grows older! Thanks pal…will try to work this out!

    • Neha, actually you should write… You are among the few, I always looked at when I wrote something and wanted to show. There is never too late for anything… so if you are really serious then start soon, it hardly takes any time or effort. And I will b the first person to subscribe, share, comment and like it… 😉

Want to say something about this post? Your comments are highly desirable... :D

